Are Nutter Butters Vegan? In Detail Analysis

Nabisco-owned American Biscuit Brand, Nutter Butters, is America’s best-selling peanut butter sandwich cookies having a consumer base of around one billion people every year.

Their distinctive design and delicious taste are the main ingredients for their wide popularity; They are so fulfilling that people like to have their nutter butter cookies with beverages like tea, coffee, while many take them as an after-meal dessert.

But with the generations growing more ecofriendly, “Are nutter butters vegan?” is the question on everyone’s mouth.

Are Nutter Butters Vegan? Nutter butters are vegan if you consider sugar to be vegan. That’s one ingredient falling in the grey area. Other than sugar, there is no animal product or derivative used in the cookies. 

Let’s analyze the ingredients used and their different varieties for the vegan-friendliness of the cookies.

Nutter Butter Ingredients

  • Palm Oil, High Fructose Corn Syrup, Cornstarch, Soy Lecithin, Salt, Leavening (Baking Soda, Calcium Phosphate),
  • Sugar, Canola Oil, Whole Grain Wheat Flour, Peanut Butter (Peanuts, Corn Syrup Solids, Salt, Peanut Oil, Hydrogenated Rapeseed And/Or Cottonseed And/Or Soybean Oils),
  • Unbleached Enriched Flour (Wheat Flour, Thiamine Mononitrate {Vitamin B1}, Niacin, Reduced Iron, Riboflavin {Vitamin B2}, Folic Acid),
  • Artificial Flavor [1]

Are Nutter Butters Vegan

Yes, your favorite nutter butters are vegan. Every ingredient used in the cookies is plant-based, and only controversial ingredients like artificial flavor, sugar, or palm oil might be a reason for doubt.

If you do not think these controversial ingredients are a matter of concern, you can very well eat your delicious nutter butter cookies without a doubt.

Also, on the label, manufacturers mention in the ingredients that although there is no animal product used as an ingredient, the product may have come in contact with milk and other animal derivatives.

Now, it’s up to you whether you consider the contact with dairy products an issue or eat your cookies feeling it was just a contact.

In the end, the answer depends on how strict of a vegan you are.

Controversial Vegan Ingredients

In this section, we will discuss different ingredients that might be a case of controversy for people not being able to conclude whether these ingredients are indeed vegan.

So, here in this article, we have tried to discuss every ingredient in detail to be sure if the vegan community can eat nutter butter without any doubts.

The questionable ingredients in your nutter butter cookies are:

Palm Oil And Palm Fat

Palm oil has been in the grey area for a long. It isn’t because it is animal-derived, but because its production has specific adverse effects on the environment and animals.

Palm Oil plantations have been ruining the natural habitats of several animal species like the Bornean Pygmy Elephant, the Orangutangs, the Sumatran Tiger, the Sumatran Rhino, and the Sumatran Elephant.

According to the reports by cell.com, the palm oil plantations are the reason behind the death of around 100,000 orangutangs between 1999 and 2015, according to the information by cell.com.

Moreover, palm oil plantations increase the release of methane, a gas 23 times more dangerous than CO2. If you are vegan, think twice before neglecting palm oil, for they harm animals and the environment significantly.

Sugar

Sugar is the next controversial element you will find in your nutter butter. This is because refined cane sugar is prepared in the presence of bonce char for better purity and white color.

While sugar does not have any bone char particles, many strict vegans consider it not to comply with vegan rules and, hence, try to avoid sugar at all places.

Since we don’t know about the type of sugar on the label, we assume it to be a vegan one. If you need to avoid non-vegan sugar, you can prevent nutter butters to save yourself from the doubt.

If you find that your sugar is from beets, you can very well use it because beet-type sugar is entirely vegan.

Natural Flavors

Natural Flavors can come from anywhere, whether from animal sources or plant ones. The flavor you get in candies is from plant sources most of the time.

But then also, companies will not exactly reveal all the ingredients used in manufacturing their products to maintain their secrecy and prevent other companies from making the same product.

If we put our minds into it, we find that even natural ingredients like honey are from honey bees, which means an animal product(not vegan).

And if there are any animal sources present in the candies, that will be highlighted on the box. If you want to be 100% certain of its veganism, be sure to reach out to the respective brands.

Also, if you are a hard-core vegan, you must know that many brands write “Natural Flavor” even when they are not natural but animal-based.

Artificial Flavors

On the other hand, artificial flavors are manufactured and tested on animals like mice beforehand to ensure the safety of the consumable.

The conclusion comes after a sequence of tests to ensure that these artificial ingredients might not pose specific health issues.

During these tests, several animal species like dogs, rats, cats, or mice are tortured and killed for the same.

Colors

The vegan community doesn’t look at all food colors with equal eyes. This is because some colors might not be a direct derivative from animal sources but can have links with animal cruelty or suffering.

Artificial colors present in food items go through different levels of testing, which involves innocent animals like mice and rabbits.

These animals have to go through stressful situations, which sometimes get painful too. Colors like Carmine are extracted from insects. But, there is no news of Nutter Butters using it in their products.

Different Varieties of Nutter Butters

Well, there is not only one variety of our famous nutter butters. People love to eat different types on different occasions. As is the saying, “No one-size-fits-all,”

Let’s dive deep into its different varieties individually.

Fudge Covered Nutter Butter

Fudge covered nutter butter cookies

Ingredients used in Fudge Covered Nutter Butter:

Peanut Butter(Hydrogenated Rapeseed And/Or Soybean And/or Cottonseed Oils, Peanut Oil, Salt, Corn Syrup Solids, Peanuts), Cocoa, Natural Flavor, Cornstarch, Salt, Palm Oil, Cocoa(Processed with Alkali), Nonfat Milk, Soy Lecithin, Sugar, Unbleached Enriched Flour( Reduced Iron, Riboflavin[Vitamin B2, Wheat Flour, Thiamine Mononitrate[Vitamin B1], Folic Acid, Niacin), Palm Kernel Oil, Leavening(Calcium Phosphate, Baking Soda), Whole Grain Wheat Flour, High Fructose Corn Syrup, Artificial Flavor.[Source]

So, are these Fudge Covered Nutter Butters Vegan?

No, Fudge Covered Nutter Butters are not vegan. This is because these contain nonfat milk as one of the ingredients which are not vegan-friendly

Traditional Nutter Butter

Traditional Nutter Butters

Ingredients Of Traditional Nutter Butters:

Canola Oil, Soy Lecithin, Whole Grain Wheat Flour, Sugar, Cornstarch, Peanut Butter(Corn Syrup Solids, Salt, Hydrogenated Rapeseed And/Or Soybean And/Or Cottonseed Oils, Peanuts, Peanut Oil), Artificial FlavorPalm Oil, Unbleached Enriched Flour(Niacin, Thiamine Mononitrate[Vitamin B1], Folic Acid, Riboflavin[Vitamin B2], Reduced Iron, Wheat Flour), High Fructose Corn Syrup, Leavening(Calcium Phosphate, Baking Soda) [Source]

Are Traditional Nutter Butters Vegan?

Yes, Nutters Butters are Vegan. You read this right; our favorite Nutter Butters are vegan. All the Ingredients present in Nutter Butters are vegan and plant-based. And the controversial ingredients that might pose a concern are thoroughly discussed above.

Nutter Butter Creme Patties

Nutter Butters Creme Patties

Ingredients of Nutter Butter Creme Patties:

Dextrose, Soy Lecithin, Baking Soda, Sugar, Salt, Cornstarch, Palm Oil, Unbleached Enriched Flour(Niacin, Wheat Flour, Reduced Iron, Folic Acid, Thiamine Mononitrate[Vitamin B1], Riboflavin[Vitamin B2], Malted Barley Flour), Peanut Butter(Salt, Peanuts, Hydrogenated Rapeseed And/Or Soybean And/Or Cottonseed Oils, Peanut Oil) [Source]

Are Nutter Butter Creme Patties Vegan?

Yehhaayyyy, Nutter Butter Creme Patties are vegan too. As with traditional nutter butters, the only controversial ingredients have been discussed above, and the rest, the product is perfectly vegan.

Nutter Butter Cereals

Nutter Butter Cereals

Ingredients of Nutter Butter Cereals:

Canola Oil, Whole Grain Oat Flour, Sugar, Calcium Carbonate, Peanut Butter(Dextrose, Peanuts, Hydrogenated Vegetable Oil(Soybean, Cottonseed, Canola), Salt), Red 40, Yellow 5, Blue 1, Yellow 6, BHT, Corn Flour, Natural and Artificial Flavor, Dextrose, Salt added to Preserve Freshness.[Source]

Is Nutter Butter Cereals Vegan?

Like most varieties above, this Nutter Butter Cereal is also Vegan. The concerning controversial ingredients have been discussed above, and you can make your decision based on that.

Nutter Butter Bites

Nutter Butter Bites

Ingredients used in Nutter Butter Bites:

High Fructose Corn Syrup, Cornstarch, Leavening(Baking Soda And/Or Calcium Phosphate), Palm Oil, Whole Grain Wheat Flour, Soy Lecithin, Salt, Sugar, Peanut Butter(Peanut Oil, Corn Syrup Solids, Peanuts, Hydrogenated Cottonseed And/Or Soybean And/Or Rapeseed Oils), Canola Oil, Unbleached Enriched Flour(Reduced Iron, Folic Acid, Thiamine Mononitrate{Vitamin B1}, Wheat Flour, Riboflavin{Vitamin B2}), Artificial Flavor. [Source]

Are Nutter Butter Bites Vegan?

Yes, Nutter Butter Bites are also vegan. It contains the same ingredients as traditional nutter butters with only differences in shape and size.

Also, the controversial ingredients used in the bites variant have been discussed earlier, so that won’t be an issue. Along with this, Peta also gives its confirmation of Nutter Butter Bites to be vegan.

Are Nutter Butters Gluten Free?

No, no variety of nutter butters is gluten-free. All the variants use wheat flour as one of their ingredients, so nutters butters aren’t gluten-free.

How do you ascertain that a product is vegan? 

Worth a thought, right? Let’s say you are out shopping by yourself and you only need to get the vegan foods. How will that go for you? Pretty confusing, right.

First, we need to go through the complete ingredients label by ourselves. Assuming it’s our first time, we will be even more cautious about the tricky names the non-vegan brands might use.

It’s always a good idea to avoid products that don’t come with labels. You never know what they might be putting into your body while not disclosing the ingredients.

Keep extra care when choosing your vegan products.

Are Nutter Butters Healthy?

Nutter Butters are delicious; I know, right? But, are they healthy also? We shouldn’t eat anything that can harm us even if they are tasty, right? Well, nutter butters are full of sugar.

Along with sugar, you also get sodium, hydrogenated-oil fat, empty carbs, along with their harmful side effects. Doesn’t it sound delicious now? Just kidding.

This excessive sugar significantly raises your blood sugar levels, while sodium makes you feel empty enough to eat more of the nutter butters. Overeating isn’t far away, though 🙂

So, we can say that nutter butters aren’t the best thing you can get for your health, but that goddamn taste makes us eat them. It’s fine.

The way we try to avoid our favorite pizzas, burgers for our health and eat them occasionally, the same we can do for our nutter butters.

Read: Are Green Powders A Waste Of Money?

Are Nutter Butters Dairy Free?

All the nutter butter products mentioned above don’t contain dairy-based ingredients except the fudge-covered variant( and Nutty Bars). Hence, regular nutter butters are dairy-free.

So, finally, are Nutter Butters Vegan?

As we look closely at the ingredients, we find that there are many questionable ingredients in these products. So, if you are a very hard-core vegan, then these nutter butters might not be for you.

Look above in the respective variety analysis to see if you are okay consuming those ingredients in your diet.

If not, we have good news; you can always make your delicious vegan nutter butter cookies at your home while avoiding these ingredients.

Leave a Comment